Sunday Brunch | Quiche Lorraine

24 Apr

I’m a sucker for quiche. I love it – it’s cheesy and filled with delicious vegetables, but I have a special spot in my heart reserved for Quiche Lorraine. That’s because it has bacon in it.

I’m fairly certain if I had to eat only 5 foods for the rest of my life, bacon would be there – right next to mushrooms and cheese. I used a thick cut smoked bacon, Wright brand, the first time I made this.

Yummy, yummy bacon

The second time I made this, I used thick cut bacon, Kroger brand. I would recommend the Kroger brand – maybe the best bacon I’ve ever eaten.

This quiche really turned out fantastic. The filling wasn’t runny, the crust was a perfect golden brown and the onion brought some major flavor to the mix.

I braided the top crust and it added a beautiful touch to the finished product.

 

 

Quiche Lorraine

  •  2 – 9 inch pie crusts (one if you don’t want a braided crust)
  • 12 slices bacon
  • 1 C shredded Swiss cheese
  • 1/2 C shredded Gruyere cheese
  • 1/3 C minced onion
  • 4 eggs, beaten
  • 1 1/2 C heavy cream
  • 1 tsp. ground pepper

Preheat oven to 425. Place bacon in large skillet and fry until crisp.* Now is a great time to position your pie crust in your dish and braid the top crust, if you wish. If you wish to not braid, just enjoy the smells of bacon flooding your kitchen as you shred the cheeses.

After the bacon is ready, crumble it and toss in a bowl with the cheeses and onion. Sprinkle into the pie shell. Whisk the eggs together and add the heavy cream and pepper. Pour into the pie shell.

Bake for 15 minutes, then reduce heat to 300 and bake for an additional 5 minutes. At this point, place foil around the edges of your crust to keep it nice and brown, but not crispy and burnt. Bake for another 35-40 minutes.

Remove quiche from oven when a knife inserted one-to-two inches from the edge of the crust comes out clean.

* Save you bacon grease. This quiche goes great with hash browns made in bacon grease.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 106 other followers

