Banana Nut (less) Bread or What I Got for My 21st Birthday

16 Apr

Now, I bet you’re curious about what I received for my 21st birthday. Well, it wasn’t Banana Bread. It was, however, a peanut allergy. Who gets a peanut allergy at the ripe ol’ age of 21? Me, of course. I can’t even have other nuts that may have come in contact with peanuts at some point in their production.

Oh, well. It could be worse – at least it wasn’t shellfish. Anyway, the point is, my Banana Nut Bread comes nut-less these days. It’s okay though, because with this recipe for Banana Nut Bread – it’s just as good without the little lousy legume.

Flour’s Banana Bread

  • 1 2/3 C Flour
  • 1 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1/4 tsp Cinnamon
  • Pinch of Salt
  • 1 C plus 2 tbs Sugar
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1/2 C Oil
  • 3 1/2 Bananas, very ripe & very mashed
  • 2 tbs Sour Cream
  • 1 tsp Vanilla Extract

Preheat oven to 350 and grease the bottom and sides of a loaf pan. Sift (or stir together with a whisk, because I’m usually just too busy to actually sift) together the flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt. Beat sugar and eggs with a whisk until light and fluffy, about 10 minutes. Drizzle in oil. Add mashed bananas (I usually just mash them in my hands as I’m putting them in), sour cream, and vanilla. Fold in dry ingredients. Pour into  loaf pan and bake for about 45 minutes to 1 hour.

Leave a Reply

