Snickerdoodle Cupcakes

27 Apr

I have a soft spot for cupcakes. I also have a soft spot for snickerdoodles, so when I saw these beauties on Pinterest – I knew I had to try them. When I was little, my nan used to make the best snickerdoodles – ever. Mine never turn out quite the same and I highly doubt they ever will. But food always tastes better when someone else made it, right?

These are pretty quick to whip up too and are always a huge hit because of the deliciousness and presentation. The cake is moist and lovely, but the cookie, icing, cake combo is really what sends this cookie over the top.

The recipe for the cookies makes more than what is needed (4 dozen), but I never mind having a few extra snickerdoodles in my kitchen. Also, I had enough cupcake batter left over to make a couple giant cupcakes – these had 3x the batter of a regular cupcake.      Yum 🙂

Snickerdoodle Cookies 

  • 2 3/4 C all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp cream of tartar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 8 Tbs (1 stick) unsalted butter
  • 1/2 C pure vegetable shortening
  • 1 3/4 C sugar
  • 2 tablespoons ground cinnamon
  • 2 large eggs

Preheat oven to 400 and line baking sheets with parchment paper.

At this point, you should sift together your flour, cream of tartar, baking soda and salt. I have a confession – I never sift anything together. I always throw it in the bowl and then whisk it together. It’s worked grandly for me so far.

Beat together butter, shortening and 1 1/2 C of sugar until the mixture is light and fluffy. Scrape down the sides of the bowl and add eggs one at a time until combined. Add dry ingredients and combine.

The batter for snickerdoodles is not stiff, it’s quite pliable actually. Okay, now, I’m not looking so steal a bite of that delicious batter and forget that raw eggs aren’t the greatest for you. I’m a sucker for snickerdoodle batter, it’s just amazing.

Next, you’ll want mix your cinnamon and left over sugar together in a small dish. Roll the dough into 1.5 inch balls and roll in the cinnamon sugar. Place on the baking sheet. Bake for around 10 minutes, switching oven positions half way through.

Snickerdoodle Cupcakes (Brown Eyed Baker)

  • 1½ C all-purpose flour
  • 1½ C cake flour
  • 1 Tbs baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 Tbs ground cinnamon
  • 1 C unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1¾ C granulated sugar
  • 4 eggs, at room temperature
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1¼ C whole milk

Preheat oven to 350. Line standard cupcake tins with paper liners. Whisk together both flours, baking powder, salt and cinnamon.

With an electric mixer on medium-high speed, cream the butter and sugar until pale and fluffy, about 3 minutes. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating until each is incorporated, scraping down the sides of the bowl as needed. Beat in the vanilla. Reduce the speed to low. Add the flour mixture in three batches, alternating with two additions of milk, and beating until combined after each. Once again, try not to eat the batter, but I’ll look away if you need me to.

Divide the batter evenly among lined cups, filling each three-quarters full. Bake, rotating tins halfway through, until a cake tester inserted in centers comes out clean, about 20 minutes. Allow the cupcakes to cool completely in the tins. This is important because the wrappers will pull away from the cupcakes during the cooling process if they are not left in the tins.

Assembly

Once your cupcakes have cooled, top with a swirl of your favorite butter cream icing. I don’t give my butter cream recipe away – yet. I sell my cupcakes and I couldn’t possibly give away all my secrets. Then top with a snickerdoodle cookie. Finally pipe another swirl of butter cream on top of the cookie and sprinkle with left over cinnamon sugar.

6 Responses to “Snickerdoodle Cupcakes”

  1. mydearbakes April 27, 2012 at 10:44 am #

    Nicely done! I must say you did a very great job there! =)

    • Liv Hefner April 27, 2012 at 10:52 am #

      Thanks! Cookies and cupcakes together just seemed too good to pass up 🙂

  2. frugalfeeding April 27, 2012 at 10:51 am #

    Fantastic – they look wonderful. I see so many good looking things on Pinterest – it’s so addictive.

    • Liv Hefner April 27, 2012 at 10:54 am #

      Thank you! & I have the same Pinterest problem. I spend way too much time in the Food & Drink category for my waistline’s own good.

  3. egg me on May 3, 2012 at 9:52 am #

    Wow — 2 recipes in one! Snickerdoodles are so good so I can imagine how great these cupcakes are. Great stuff.

    • Liv Hefner May 3, 2012 at 10:02 am #

      Thanks! I highly recommend them – they’re always a crowd pleaser & fantastic served warm.

Leave a Reply

