Sunday Brunch | Citrus Juice

7 May

I couldn’t decide on the name of this juice. It’s not quite orange juice, yet not lemonade by a long shot. I figured citrus was a pretty safe bet since “lemorange” and “oran-a-nade” don’t exactly fall off the tongue nicely.

There’s something gratifying about juicing fruits. I’m not sure what it is, maybe it’s the stress relief of grinding or squeezing the pulp out of something or maybe it’s making something so completely different than what you started with. To juice my lemons and oranges, I used a standard manual juicer this time – but what I really recommend is a juice press. The one I usually use probably weighs five pounds and can probably squeeze the equivalent of its weight out of a medium lemon – definitely a favorite kitchen gadget.

Another key to making amazing juice other than a press is using a simple syrup. My simple syrup is always 1 part water to 1 part sugar. You’ll find lots of different measurements for simple syrups – use what works for you. I like my juices sweeter so this is great for me. This citrus juice is very sweet, but looks lovely on the breakfast table and will surely be a crowd pleaser.

Citrus Juice

  • Simple Syrup ( 1 C sugar + 1 C water)
  • Juice of 8 oranges
  • Juice of 3 lemons
  • Water to taste

Prepare the simple syrup by combining the sugar and water in a pot on the stove over medium heat. Stir the mixture occasionally until there are no sugar crystals left in the mix. You can check this by looking on the back of the spoon. I always dab a bit off the end of the spoon and rub it between my fingers – it should be completely smooth. Sit syrup aside.

Juice or press the oranges and lemons – combine the juices.

Combing the citrus juice and the simple syrup. Start adding water to taste – start with 3 C and work from there. It really depends on the size of your pitcher. After each addition of water, stir thoroughly.

Leave a Reply

