White Chocolate Chip Cookies

10 May

Baking is therapeutic for me and sometimes the urge to bake overwhelms me. I was standing in front of my kitchen cabinets opening and closing them repeatedly hoping that maybe I would find what I was hoping to make. The options were limited, but I needed to make something to get my mind off the fact the finals grades hadn’t been released yet and a certain accounting class was weighing on my mind. I finally reached into the depths of my baking drawer and found a bag of white chocolate chips – they were expiring soon – it was a sign from the gods.

I quickly decided that cookies were the cure to my baking conundrum, but when I opened my fridge there were no eggs or butter. No mind, it was a beautiful day and only about a block’s walk to the nearest convenience store. They were sure to have my baking needs. But alas, butter, but no eggs. I needed the cookies at this point and just figured I would substitute applesauce for my egg. It turned out lovely. The cookies took my mind off of finals and they were absolutely delicious. In case anyone was wondering, I got an A in that accounting class.

White Chocolate Chip Cookiesย  makes about 2 dozen

  • 1/2 C Butter, softened
  • 1 C White Sugar
  • 1/4 C Apple Sauce
  • 1 tsp Vannila Extract
  • 1 C Flour
  • 1/4 C + 2 Tbs Unsweetened Cocoa Powder
  • 1/2 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1 C White Chocolate Chips

Preheat oven to 350.

In the bowl of an electric mixer, combine butter and sugar until fluffy. Mix in apple sauce and vanilla. Add dry ingredients to mixing bowl and mix until combined. Fold in chocolate chips by hand. Drop rounded one inch balls onto ungreased cookie sheet.

Bake 8-10 minutes, until cookies are set. Allow to cool on baking sheet for ย minutes, then transfer to wire cooling racks. Enjoy warm with a cold glass of milk.

2 Responses to “White Chocolate Chip Cookies”

  1. Big Hungry Gnomes May 10, 2012 at 4:40 pm #

    I think these cookies look like a gift of the gods, especially if they came from a miraculous finding of chocolate chips just before they expired. Thanks for sharing the wonderful recipe

    • Liv Hefner May 16, 2012 at 1:55 pm #

      Haha, I’m fairly certain they were gifted to me ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

